Group Members

Our members are people with expertise in areas of robotics, artificial intelligence, computer science, mathematics, biology, and engineering, and students heading that way.

The Centre for Computer Science and Informatics Research has recently been restructured and many of our members have been previously affiliated with the Adaptive Systems Research Group.

Academic staff

Prof. Farshid Amirabdollahian

Professor (Human-Robot Interaction)

Research interests

Rehabilitation Robotics, Assistive Robotics, Technology to Support Ageing and Wellbeing, Safety of Robots, Ethical Robotics, Haptic Feedback, Physiological Sensing and Machine Learning, Agricultural Robotics, Robots for Education

 Short Biography

Dr Diego R. Faria

Reader (Robotics and Intelligent Adaptive Systems)

Contact information

 E308
 d.faria@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Cognitive Robotics, Affective Robotics, Artificial Perception, Assistive Tech, Applied Machine Learning, Brain-Computer Interfaces

 Short Biography

Recent Projects

SWAG

Dr Catherine Menon

Principal Lecturer

Contact information

 LB214
 4319
 c.menon@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Profile

Research interests

safety-critical autonomous systems; assurance mechanisms for autonomous systems; safety, security and social credibility of companion robots

 Short Biography

Recent Projects

CuPick, SocCred

Dr Prapa Rattadilok

Principal Lecturer

Contact information

 LB206
 77611
 p.rattadilok@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile

Research interests

data fusion, IoT, autonomous systems

Dr Luke Wood

Principal Lecturer (Artificial Intelligence and Robotics)

Contact information

 C255
 l.wood@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

3D printing, Human-Robot Interaction (HRI), Artificial Intelligence (AI), Rehabilitation Robotics, Robots in Therapy and Education, Assistive Robotics, Social Robotics.

Dr Frank Förster

Senior Lecturer

Contact information

 LC206
 77594
 f.foerster@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website

Research interests

human-robot interaction, robotic language acquisition, pragmatics, spoken dialogue systems, human-centric AI

Recent Projects

FLUIDITY

Dr Patrick Holthaus

Senior Research Fellow (Robot House Manager)

Contact information

 E114A
 8583 (external: 01707 28 9383)
 p.holthaus@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website
 Robot House

Research interests

Social robotics: nonverbal interactive signals; social credibility and trust in assistive and companion robots; interaction architectures and behaviour coordination; systems integration in heterogeneous environments

 Short Biography

Dr Kheng Lee Koay

Senior Lecturer (Scientific Manager of Robot House)

Dr Kheng Lee Koay

Contact information

 LB204
 1026
 k.l.koay@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile

Research interests

human-robot interaction, social robotics, robotic home companions, agent migration and mobile robotics

Recent Projects

CuPick, Robot House 2.0

Dr Gabriella Lakatos

Senior Lecturer

Dr Gabriella Lakatos

Contact information

 E114C
 g.lakatos@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile

Research interests

Human-Robot Interactions, Social and Assistive Robotics, Acceptable and believable robotic behaviour and interactions, Etho-Robotics

 Short Biography

Dr Ben Robins

Senior Research Fellow

Contact information

 E115
 1150
 b.robins@herts.ac.uk
 Research Profile
 Personal Website
 Kaspar

Research interests

Human Robot Interaction (HRI) with specific interest in the application of robotic systems in rehabilitation, therapy and education; Autism therapy; Dance Movement Therapy

Dr Abolfazl Zaraki

Senior Lecturer (Robotics)

Contact information

 LC254
 a.zaraki@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Mutual behaviour adaptation in Human-robot Interactions, Contextual reasoning, Development of Cognitive Systems for Autonomous robots, Social Robotics

 Short Biography

Sílvia Moros Español

Lecturer

Contact information

 E114
 s.moros2@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Human-Robot Interaction, Social Robotics, Assistive Robotics

 Short Biography


Research staff

Dr Vignesh Velmurugan

Research Fellow (Educational Robotics Companion)

Contact information

 E122
 v.velmurugan@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Rehabilitation robotics, Motor learning, Human-robot interaction in assistive and social robotics, Educational robotic companions, Humanoid robots, Unmanned Aerial Vehicles

 Short Biography


Research students

Mubashir Ahmad

Ph.D. Student

Mubashir Ahmad

Contact information

 E122
 m.ahmad21@herts.ac.uk

Research interests

Artificial Intelligence, Deep Learning, Attention Models, Computer vision, Medical Imaging, CNN, Object Detection, Image processing

Shadiya Alingal-Meethal

Ph.D. Student

Contact information

 E122
 1341
 s.alingal-meethal@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Signal Processing, Machine learning, Robotic Rehabilitation

Mohammad Hossein Bamorovat Abadi

Ph.D. Student

Contact information

 E122
 4630
 m.bamorovat@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Robotic, Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Computer Vision, Image Processing, Mobile Robot, Navigation, Vision Navigation, SLAM and Mechatronics.

Ali Fallahi

Contact information

 E122
 a.fallahi@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Human Robot Interaction (HRI), Social and Assistive Robotics, Acceptable and Believable Robotic Behaviour and Interactions, Machine Learning

 Short Biography

Gayathri Girija Devi Radhakrishnan

Ph.D. Student

Research interests

Robotics, Human-Robot Interaction, Social Robotics

Khashayar Ghamati Ghamsari

Ph.D. Student

Contact information

 E122
 k.ghamati@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Human-Robot Interaction (HRI), Robotics, Computer Vision, Machine Learning, Neuroscience, Mathematics

Sehrish Rafique

Ph.D. Student

Contact information

 E122
 s.rafique@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Robotics, Context Aware Computing, Human-Robot Interaction, Ubiquitous Computing, Smart Sensing, Human Activity Recognition

Lewis Riches

Ph.D. Student

Lewis Riches

Contact information

 E114
 l.riches@herts.ac.uk

Research interests

Robotics, Human-Robot interaction, Companion robotics, Social robotics, Planning

Mohamad Reza Shahabian Alashti

Ph.D. Student

Contact information

 E122
 m.r.shahabian@herts.ac.uk
 Personal Website

Research interests

Robotics, Mechatronics, Human-Robot Interaction, Machine Learning, Deep learning, Machine Vision, RoboCup

Alex Tilson

Ph.D. Student

Contact information

 E114
 a.tilson@herts.ac.uk


Past academics

Dr Hooman Samani 

Past research students

Dr Vignesh Velmurugan 

The past members sections only includes alumni of the new robotics research group. To see alumni of the adaptive systems research group, please visit their website.